Skip to main content

Managing Your Freed Subscription

How to view, manage, and change your Freed subscription plan

This article guides you in managing your Freed plan — whether you use it individually or as part of a group plan. You’ll learn how to upgrade/downgrade, manage seats, and handle billing or cancellations.

Use a Free Trial of Freed

Starting out, every account is automatically given a 7-day free trial to test Freed without adding payment info. You can subscribe at any time during your free trial by clicking the Subscribe button on the sidebar of your account.

  • We strongly recommend setting up a subscription directly through Freed's website in order to avoid being routed through the App Store or Google Play Store. This ensures that your subscription is billed by Freed, resulting in a lower cost to you and a greater extent of billing support from our team.

If the trial ends and you do not subscribe, you will still retain access to notes created during the trial — but you’ll lose the ability to create new recordings.

No automatic billing occurs after a free trial unless you explicitly choose to subscribe.


How to Manage Your Subscription

Subscribe directly with Freed

For the best pricing and subscription management experience, we strongly recommend subscribing directly through Freed rather than through the Apple App Store or Google Play Store.

When subscriptions are handled through these third-party platforms, all subscription management—such as cancellations, refunds, or billing adjustments—must be managed directly through Apple or Google and cannot be supported by Freed.

Subscribing directly with Freed allows us to provide more personalized support and assistance for any subscription-related needs. Rest assured that subscriptions purchased through our website fully integrate with the Freed mobile app, ensuring seamless access across all platforms. Freed subscriptions can also be managed across multiple devices, including iPads, as long as your subscription remains active.

Accessing Your Subscription Settings

  1. Hover over the left edge of the screen to reveal the sidebar, then click the Settings (gear icon).

  2. Under Plan and Billing Select Subscription from the menu.


  3. Click View billing for any of the following:

    1. View your current subscription, including plan type and number of seats

    2. View your next billing date and next estimated payment

    3. Update your payment method, e.g. add or change credit card used for billing

    4. Update your billing name, billing email, billing address or phone number

    5. View your invoice history

If your account was started via a mobile app store (App Store / Google Play), manage your plan through that marketplace.


Upgrade to a Group Plan

If you create a Group Plan for multiple clinicians, you can start with inviting users to join your account:

  1. Log in to your Freed account.

  2. Hover over the left edge of the screen to reveal the sidebar, then click the gear icon to open Settings.

  3. Select Members.

  4. Invite clinicians by email or copy the invite link to share with your team.

You can add or remove users from your group in the User Management tab. Each additional clinician added to the group plan requires a paid license. You will be billed separately for every added provider. Billing for new members is pro-rated based on the time remaining in the billing cycle when they join. If a clinician with an individual plan is added to a group plan:

  • Their individual subscription will be canceled, and they will be covered under the group subscription.

  • All notes, settings, and formats will remain intact.

  • Billing adjustments, such as prorated refunds, will be handled automatically for Freed-managed subscriptions. To remove a clinician from your group:

  1. Go to Group Settings or Team Management in your Freed account.

  2. Locate the clinician you want to remove.

  3. Click Remove or Delete next to their name.

Manage a Group Plan

  1. Hover over the left edge of the screen to reveal the sidebar, then click the settings icon (gear).

  2. Select Subscription from the menu.

  3. Click the User Management tab near the top of the page. Here you can add or remove users and manage their permissions.

If you have a group plan, you'll pay for the number of seats you select when establishing your subscription. Monthly plans offer flexibility to increase or decrease the amount of users within your group on a monthly basis. Annual plans cannot be self-served — to add or remove users on an annual plan, contact your account manager to discuss adjustments to your renewal.

You can add or remove users from your group in the User Management tab.

To learn more about managing a group, you can view our Group Admin guide.

To learn more about pricing options for setting up a group plan in Freed, you can connect with our Sales team.


Pause Your Subscription

Clinicians who don't work or use Freed certain months of the year have the ability to pause their subscription.

  1. Hover over the left edge of the screen to reveal the sidebar, then click the settings icon (gear).

  2. Select Subscription from the menu.

  3. Click the Manage Subscription button.

  4. Select the pause duration that best suits your needs: 1, 2, or 3 months.

  5. Click Pause Subscription.

While paused, you will not be billed and recording functionality will be disabled. You will be able to resume your subscription at any time from this same page by clicking Resume Subscription.

Note: Pause is available only when ALL of these are true —

  • you are an admin

  • you have a monthly subscription

  • the subscription is currently active

  • you are not already paused or in the process of cancelling

  • you set up your account without the assistance of the Freed sales/account management team.


How to Cancel your Freed Plan

Here is a quick guide on how to cancel your Freed subscription. After the current billing cycle ends and your cancellation is complete, you will retain access to view previous notes, however you will no longer be able to capture new visits.

Individual Plans

Cancelling your Freed plan in the middle of the billing cycle will deactivate the auto-renewal, and your plan will not renew at the next billing cycle.

To cancel your plan:

  1. Click Settings (gear icon) > Subscription > Manage subscription

  2. If you are on a monthly plan, consider pausing your subscription if you are stepping away from your practice. While paused, you will not be billed and recording functionality will be disabled. You will be able to resume your subscription at any time from this same page by clicking Resume Subscription

Group Plans

Contact your group account manager for more information.

Feedback

Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we genuinely appreciate any insights you can provide regarding your decision to cancel. Your input helps us improve our platform for clinicians like you.


Refunds

Please refer to the following pages:

While refunds are not automatically provided for standard cancellations, there are specific circumstances where you may be eligible for a refund.


Get Support

If you need further help or have questions, you can get in touch with our Clinician Support team in the method that works best for you:

If you're interested in using Freed as a group, talk with our sales team.

Did this answer your question?